Excuse my language. Which might make me look like a hypocrite in this post, but I'm upset. I saw something this morning that made me leave my sons school in tears wondering why student teachers don't care as much as they should. It really made me wonder why I bring him to school at all. I witnessed a little boy (who i think is pretty much the cutest thing in the world - beside Corbyn) being bullied. I could blame the other kids, but I won't. I'm going to blame the student teachers, and the gym teacher for lack of attention for their students.
He's shorter than the other kids, the only one with glasses, and he doesn't run as fast as the others. Now Corbyn runs with the group who does the bullying, but I'm told by the director of the school that he stands up for the kid being bullied on a daily basis. He even sits with him at lunch, and even though he's not really good at hiding it, he slips him half of his cookie daily. (HA! I'VE DONE MY JOB STUDENT TEACHERS! NOW DO YOURS!) This morning I was dropping off my munchkin, and there he was being chased by the bullies who want the ball he has. Corbyn says "Uh oh mama this looks bad." (Ouch, my heart.) They chased him until he tripped and fell on his knees while the other kids took the ball from him. He layed there crying (I'm trying not to cry.) and no one, not a single soul, even ran to him or noticed that he was in a lot of pain. I witnesses the whole thing. I looked several times at the gym teacher who was talking to a fellow student teacher, not paying attention to any of the kids. Looked back and forth from the bullies, the kid being bullied, and the other student teacher who was braiding some little girls hair. (Also not paying attention to anything but the hair.) It's about 30 seconds in and I'm just getting more and more angry at these grown-ups. Corbyn tugs my hand "Come on mom lets go help him! He's hurt!" So I say to myself "F it." I ran into the gym and i picked him up and hugged him real tight. Corbyn hugged him too. We both kissed his strawberried knees (almost bleeding) and kept telling him not to cry, everything will be ok. His gym teacher had the nerve to look down at me (not even coming over to see what the problem was) and said "Oh he just fell running." Parents reading this very post, I'm not a violent person. But this statement made me see red. I was actually surprised at how calm I was even though I was REALLY angry. I tell the teacher, "Oh you saw EVERYTHING? Or did you miss the part where he asked the boys to wait their turn to play with the ball? He was being chased because the two boys didn't want to wait." Then I hear something else that made me want to pull the braid out of the student teachers hair (the little girl was still getting her hair braided - I would have placed her to the side before hand. Also I'm not going to use real names for the simple fact that I've asked no one if I could share this info.) "C - stop crying!" I had to get out of there, I was going to hurt a student teacher. I said "Corbyn, do you think that you and C can go sing and dance together this morning ?" Corbyn wastes no time. After I kiss them both on the forehead he grabs C's hand and they both run over to where the music is playing and start singing and dancing. That made my heart happy to see Corbyn being such a good friend to C. Which by the way, is the only thing that saved the teachers from getting braids and teeth knocked out.
For the love of GOD, these children are pre-schoolers! This right here, right now, is the time to show them how to love one another. How to play nicely with others, even if they are different! I too often walk into the pick-up room hearing teachers yelling the words NO, BE QUIET RIGHT NOW, and WHY ARE YOU TALKING STILL? Maybe this is all my fault for not speaking my mind? Are these girls just not happy with their jobs? Do these girls really not realize that their words are heard by the ears of 4 year olds who do exactly what they do? I'm devastated. I have no idea what to do? Fellow mistake making parents, I need your help. I'm completely lost as to what to do?
Signed,
Mom (Bitter Betty)
No comments:
Post a Comment