Excuse my language. Which might make me look like a hypocrite in this post, but I'm upset. I saw something this morning that made me leave my sons school in tears wondering why student teachers don't care as much as they should. It really made me wonder why I bring him to school at all. I witnessed a little boy (who i think is pretty much the cutest thing in the world - beside Corbyn) being bullied. I could blame the other kids, but I won't. I'm going to blame the student teachers, and the gym teacher for lack of attention for their students.
He's shorter than the other kids, the only one with glasses, and he doesn't run as fast as the others. Now Corbyn runs with the group who does the bullying, but I'm told by the director of the school that he stands up for the kid being bullied on a daily basis. He even sits with him at lunch, and even though he's not really good at hiding it, he slips him half of his cookie daily. (HA! I'VE DONE MY JOB STUDENT TEACHERS! NOW DO YOURS!) This morning I was dropping off my munchkin, and there he was being chased by the bullies who want the ball he has. Corbyn says "Uh oh mama this looks bad." (Ouch, my heart.) They chased him until he tripped and fell on his knees while the other kids took the ball from him. He layed there crying (I'm trying not to cry.) and no one, not a single soul, even ran to him or noticed that he was in a lot of pain. I witnesses the whole thing. I looked several times at the gym teacher who was talking to a fellow student teacher, not paying attention to any of the kids. Looked back and forth from the bullies, the kid being bullied, and the other student teacher who was braiding some little girls hair. (Also not paying attention to anything but the hair.) It's about 30 seconds in and I'm just getting more and more angry at these grown-ups. Corbyn tugs my hand "Come on mom lets go help him! He's hurt!" So I say to myself "F it." I ran into the gym and i picked him up and hugged him real tight. Corbyn hugged him too. We both kissed his strawberried knees (almost bleeding) and kept telling him not to cry, everything will be ok. His gym teacher had the nerve to look down at me (not even coming over to see what the problem was) and said "Oh he just fell running." Parents reading this very post, I'm not a violent person. But this statement made me see red. I was actually surprised at how calm I was even though I was REALLY angry. I tell the teacher, "Oh you saw EVERYTHING? Or did you miss the part where he asked the boys to wait their turn to play with the ball? He was being chased because the two boys didn't want to wait." Then I hear something else that made me want to pull the braid out of the student teachers hair (the little girl was still getting her hair braided - I would have placed her to the side before hand. Also I'm not going to use real names for the simple fact that I've asked no one if I could share this info.) "C - stop crying!" I had to get out of there, I was going to hurt a student teacher. I said "Corbyn, do you think that you and C can go sing and dance together this morning ?" Corbyn wastes no time. After I kiss them both on the forehead he grabs C's hand and they both run over to where the music is playing and start singing and dancing. That made my heart happy to see Corbyn being such a good friend to C. Which by the way, is the only thing that saved the teachers from getting braids and teeth knocked out.
For the love of GOD, these children are pre-schoolers! This right here, right now, is the time to show them how to love one another. How to play nicely with others, even if they are different! I too often walk into the pick-up room hearing teachers yelling the words NO, BE QUIET RIGHT NOW, and WHY ARE YOU TALKING STILL? Maybe this is all my fault for not speaking my mind? Are these girls just not happy with their jobs? Do these girls really not realize that their words are heard by the ears of 4 year olds who do exactly what they do? I'm devastated. I have no idea what to do? Fellow mistake making parents, I need your help. I'm completely lost as to what to do?
Signed,
Mom (Bitter Betty)
Corbyn Ford
Life as I know it - Corbyn Ford 2011
Friday, October 14, 2011
Monday, October 10, 2011
I know what this may look like, but he's never even seen a chia pet commercial before!
Yesterday Corbyn and I were sitting at my mom and dad's house doing a small cook out in the back yard. We were talking about everything under the sun, honey bees, why grass grows green, best friends, and dogs.
How pet hair grows according to Corbyn:
"When the dog is a baby, you put water on him. That makes his skin soft. Then you get the hair seeds and sprinkle them on him. You put some more water on him, and his hair grows fluffy!"
My. Mind. Is. BLOWN.
Signed,
Mom (I learn something new every day from my 4 year old.)
How pet hair grows according to Corbyn:
"When the dog is a baby, you put water on him. That makes his skin soft. Then you get the hair seeds and sprinkle them on him. You put some more water on him, and his hair grows fluffy!"
My. Mind. Is. BLOWN.
Signed,
Mom (I learn something new every day from my 4 year old.)
Saturday, October 8, 2011
I know what this may look like, but every kid has a mohawk in the bath picture. Right?
Well, don't they? My brother and I have tons of them. (Thanks mom. I'll treasure them always.) I haven't done this yet with Corbyn, until this mornings bath time. He wouldn't smile, because he says that makes him look like a girl robot.
Signed,
Mom (CANNOT WAIT until the 1st girlfriend so I can show her these!)
![]() |
| Corbyn Ford - 1st Mohawk picture. 2011 |
Mom (CANNOT WAIT until the 1st girlfriend so I can show her these!)
Wednesday, October 5, 2011
I know what this may look like, but sometimes simple words make sense.
My fellow mistake making parents behold your new words to live by.
Signed,
Mom (Master of the messy bun.)
Tuesday, September 20, 2011
I know what this may look like, but discrimination is not an option.
I just want to begin with this, I feel very appreciative of my parents for teaching me that you can find something to love about everyone you meet. I honestly believe that taught me that racism, and hate are not welcome in my life.
One of my very close friends has a son who is almost exactly 2 weeks older than Corbyn. Their original due dates are actually a day apart. (If I can remember correctly.) G was born with a medical condition that affects certain parts of his brain functions. I know that my good friend, J, has to face some very difficult decisions as a mother of a child with a medical condition. Even when we are with them, I find myself being very protective of him. (Mothers instincts?) How are we, as mothers, supposed to explain to our children who love each others company that there are going to be people who dislike them, simply because G was was born a very special little boy? I just wish that there was an easy way, like everyone was raised to see that discrimination is NOT an option in our world. There is no room for it. I feel like we are very lucky to have J & G in our lives. It really makes me angry at majority of the world who think it's ok to act differently toward G, just because he might not look like us, or talk like us, or act like us. My heart goes out to my good friend J, who worries daily about the tough times her son faces ahead. I often wonder if she knows that they are very special peopleto Corbyn and I?
Here's how I know that G and Corbyn will always be there for each other:
Corbyn: "Moma why is G's hand always different than mine."
Me: "Well, that's how he was born. God made him that way."
Corbyn: "Mom I'm still his best friend even though he is different."
How can I be any happier? Is it possible?
Signed,
Mom (Proud, that's all, just proud.)
One of my very close friends has a son who is almost exactly 2 weeks older than Corbyn. Their original due dates are actually a day apart. (If I can remember correctly.) G was born with a medical condition that affects certain parts of his brain functions. I know that my good friend, J, has to face some very difficult decisions as a mother of a child with a medical condition. Even when we are with them, I find myself being very protective of him. (Mothers instincts?) How are we, as mothers, supposed to explain to our children who love each others company that there are going to be people who dislike them, simply because G was was born a very special little boy? I just wish that there was an easy way, like everyone was raised to see that discrimination is NOT an option in our world. There is no room for it. I feel like we are very lucky to have J & G in our lives. It really makes me angry at majority of the world who think it's ok to act differently toward G, just because he might not look like us, or talk like us, or act like us. My heart goes out to my good friend J, who worries daily about the tough times her son faces ahead. I often wonder if she knows that they are very special peopleto Corbyn and I?
Here's how I know that G and Corbyn will always be there for each other:
Corbyn: "Moma why is G's hand always different than mine."
Me: "Well, that's how he was born. God made him that way."
Corbyn: "Mom I'm still his best friend even though he is different."
How can I be any happier? Is it possible?
![]() |
| Corbyn & G - beach day summer 2011 |
Signed,
Mom (Proud, that's all, just proud.)
Saturday, September 17, 2011
I know what this may look like, but the word "Why" is worn out around my house!
As a parent of a 4 year old, I do believe this is true. I have NEVER in my life heard the word "Why" so many times in one day! I love that my son is so curious about certain conversations (OK ALL conversations) but for the love of everything holy bless his little heart! I have an aunt that likes to tell all of the grandkids, who now have kids, "What goes around comes around!" And with that being said, I'd just like to go ahead and apologise to my beautiful, loving mother. I must figure out a way to trick his mind into asking anything other than "why?". I will update when I have that figured out!
On a lighter note, our conversation on the way to school a few mornings ago goes as follows:
Corbyn: "You haven't cooked me spaghetti in like 5 years woman." Me: "Corbyn you're 4, stop being dramatic." Corbyn: "No you're the drama-mama queen."
Tell me, how do you compete with this? This is 4 yr. old wit at it's finest!
Signed,
Mom (The jokes on me.)
On a lighter note, our conversation on the way to school a few mornings ago goes as follows:
Corbyn: "You haven't cooked me spaghetti in like 5 years woman." Me: "Corbyn you're 4, stop being dramatic." Corbyn: "No you're the drama-mama queen."
Tell me, how do you compete with this? This is 4 yr. old wit at it's finest!
Signed,
Mom (The jokes on me.)
Saturday, August 27, 2011
Thursday, August 11, 2011
I know what this may look like, but what cupcake?!
Corbyn: "Mom did you eat that cupcake before dinner?"
Me: "Uh no, why?"
Corbyn: "There's icing on your nose, BIZ!" (Biz is a family nickname. He calls me that a lot.)
What can I say? I'm caught!
Signed,
Mom (Caught red handed.)
Me: "Uh no, why?"
Corbyn: "There's icing on your nose, BIZ!" (Biz is a family nickname. He calls me that a lot.)
What can I say? I'm caught!
Signed,
Mom (Caught red handed.)
Monday, July 25, 2011
I know what this may look like, but USE YOUR WORDS!
I was about 6, I can't remember, but my dad got fed up with my taddling on my little brother. So he put both of us in time out. After that I knew that taddling wasn't for petty things like "Dad he walked over the line in our room and came over tomy side of the room!" (my brother and I shared a room up until I was about 7 or 8.) I used that power for things like "Dad he just tore down the rose bush! He was pretending to be a ninja turtle!" (Grounded from ninja turtles? BOO THAT! It was a boring summer. Why did I taddle!?)
Over the weekend, I learned that Corbyn's teacher was telling him that he needed to "come to her" if he had a problem with another student. So I realized this is why there has been so much taddle telling. (That and our neighbors are two girls - 7 and 10. Oh my god, they don't stop! WHINE WHINE WHINE!) Here's my problem with taddling on others. For one, What is this REALLY teaching our kids? Parents, don't you want your munchkin to be able to solve their own problems? Live a little more independantly? "Use your words" is probably the most common phrase I use. What I mean by that is talk it out with your friends. Say things like "Please share with me.", "Thank you for sharing". Are these things not common sense with the people who are teaching our children? I realize that I'm not perfect, and maybe letting my kid work the petty stuff out with his friends really isn't a good thing. But so far, it's working. The neighbors kids have never heard someone yell "USE YOUR WORDS!" before. They were completely dumbfounded. Sure I have to remind them a few times, but it's really catching on. I heard my mom, and dad use it with Corbyn the other day. I also heard my best friend uses it quite often. I'm hearing more polite things come out of my sons mouth, and the two girls next door. In fact they're quite pleasent to be around. It's a beautiful thing when you can hear your kids playing and getting along nicely, parents!
I think the real solution here is to simply be simple when teaching your kids about taddle telling, and playing nice with your friends. There's a lot of fun to be had so skip the grueling time outs, and the temper tantrums, and USE YOUR WORDS!
Signed,
Mom (The former taddle tell!)
Over the weekend, I learned that Corbyn's teacher was telling him that he needed to "come to her" if he had a problem with another student. So I realized this is why there has been so much taddle telling. (That and our neighbors are two girls - 7 and 10. Oh my god, they don't stop! WHINE WHINE WHINE!) Here's my problem with taddling on others. For one, What is this REALLY teaching our kids? Parents, don't you want your munchkin to be able to solve their own problems? Live a little more independantly? "Use your words" is probably the most common phrase I use. What I mean by that is talk it out with your friends. Say things like "Please share with me.", "Thank you for sharing". Are these things not common sense with the people who are teaching our children? I realize that I'm not perfect, and maybe letting my kid work the petty stuff out with his friends really isn't a good thing. But so far, it's working. The neighbors kids have never heard someone yell "USE YOUR WORDS!" before. They were completely dumbfounded. Sure I have to remind them a few times, but it's really catching on. I heard my mom, and dad use it with Corbyn the other day. I also heard my best friend uses it quite often. I'm hearing more polite things come out of my sons mouth, and the two girls next door. In fact they're quite pleasent to be around. It's a beautiful thing when you can hear your kids playing and getting along nicely, parents!
I think the real solution here is to simply be simple when teaching your kids about taddle telling, and playing nice with your friends. There's a lot of fun to be had so skip the grueling time outs, and the temper tantrums, and USE YOUR WORDS!
Signed,
Mom (The former taddle tell!)
![]() |
| As I was taking this photo the exact words out of his mouth were "Mom what are you even talking about?" Oh the joys! |
Thursday, July 7, 2011
I know what this may look like, but exactly WHY shouldn’t my son be allowed to sing at the dinner table?
My mom and dad did their best to ensure that we followed very strict rules at the dinner table. No chewing with your mouth open, no elbows on the dinner table, and you must excuse yourself from the dinner table. (I’m sure there were many more, I’m just already so bored with listing them I’m not going to bore you either.) Is anyone else but me ready to adopt some new rules for dinner table etiquette?
Just the other day Corbyn and I were enjoying a lovely fast food meal at one of our favorite quick dinner spots, Dairy Queen. (BLIZZARD! SHYEA!) He was singing a family favorite at meal time called The Rice and Butter song. It goes a little something like this, “Rice and butter, Rice and butter, and my milk, and my milk.” (Tune to Frere Jacque, the lullaby, with the words changed up a bit.) Of course we had to be seated next to an older couple (REALLY old!) who would not stop staring at my 4 yr. old who I was allowing to sing. (Not loudly, just in a normal talking voice.) I have always enjoyed this song, and I started humming with him. Look, It wasn’t like I was allowing him to run around the place throwing French fries and screaming at old people. He was saying Please, Thank you, and yes ma’am. After the older couple was done eating, the man came over and said “You know young man, my mother would have never let me sing at the dinner table.” I responded with this “Excuse me, but I would appreciate if you allow me to mother my child. Also, I suggest maybe turning your hearing aide down if you don’t like it.” (Dumb move, I know. New to this town, and already making enemies with the older crowd! GO ME!) IT WAS DAIRY QUEEN FOR CHRISTS SAKE! I thoroughly enjoy to hear my son sing “Oh my my my food it’s so so so good in my my my belly-elly-elly” It’s his way of expressing that he’s happy about eating dinner! If that’s the case then BRING ON THE SINGING, hell up the volume a little bit even! I love the sound of a happy kid. Who doesn’t?! (Besides the obvious…*cough cough* OLD COUPLE FROM DAIRY QUEEN!)
I’m all for laying the law down with a kid, for the simple fact that I think all kids need some sort of structure. Some of these old school rules just take all of the enjoyment out of a good family dinner! Laugh, goof off, sing, have fun, but chew with your mouth closed. Fantastic rules to live by right there.
Signed,
Mom (I love old people.)
Sunday, July 3, 2011
I know what this may look like, but this is OPERATION RESTORE DISCIPLINE IN THE FORD HOUSE-HOLD.
Recently Corbyn and I moved from the city he was born and raised in, to a little town where we know only one person. It has been one of the biggest struggles to date while raising my son. I took him out of the school he had been a part of for 3 and a half years. (I owe those ladies at Lamar my life. They made parenthood enjoyable for me.) I also moved him 45 minutes from his FAVORITE person in the world. Nana, the Corbyn spoiling grandma! (As you can see I was literally setting myself up for failure!)
I won’t get too graphic, because after all this is the internet. (And I plan on turning this blog into a book one day.) My son doesn’t need to see in 20 years that mom spilled some embarrassing secrets about him. (That’s probably the first good decision I’ve ever made!) But we’ve been having an “Acting-out” problem in the department that makes mom have to do double time on laundry. I know he’s just 4, and that comes with age. Maybe you haven’t noticed, but my son is very, very advanced for his age. There for we’ve never had a potty training problem before. Here’s where I was at fault; I’ve been focusing too much on his little problem. I’ve been acting out myself about it. I’ve been giving him the attention he’s crying out for. I recently with in the past week have completely stopped paying attention to his accidents. Guess how many accidents we’ve had in the past 7 days? That’s right, NONE! None at school, none at nap time, and none on the weekends! (BRILLIANT!) I could not be more ecstatic! The day I decided to change roles, I started by this. “Corbyn I noticed you had an accident. Well, maybe tomorrow we can try to not have one. How does that sound?” See before, I was taking certain privileges away. For instance, His teacher would let me know he had an accident, and I’d take away his movie hour at our house while I was cooking dinner. Eventually it got to the point to where he was not getting movie hour, not getting dessert, bike, and outside time. I mean my goodness the boy did nothing all evening, and he was STILL having his accidents. Nothing was getting though to him. Mean while I’m up to my eye balls in laundry! I finally realized wait a minute, I’m doing exactly what he wants me to do! He WANTS me to be upset with him about this so that I focus all of my time on him. DUH MOM! One problem down, 100 more to go! (Oh how that reverse psychology works so well!)
Here’s one I’ve yet to conquer; back talk. I’ve never wanted to slap someone in the mouth so much before in my entire life! (As you can see he still has all of his teeth, so this tells you that I don’t actually react on this impulse.) A few things that have worked for me are,”Wow Corbyn you sure do sound mad. Would you like to talk about it?” “Corbyn do you feel mad about something? Do you think it’s nice to talk ugly back to me like that?” “Corbyn, how about we just have a chill out time in your room and talk about what’s making you so angry with me that you need to talk ugly.”– These statements work to take his mind off of why he was mad in the first place, and express to me why he felt like he needed to talk back. I’ve been able to eliminate a few time outs this way. I also think it’s very important for Corbyn to apologize to me for the way he’s talked to me. I sometimes also apologize after he does, just so that he knows that I really do feel bad for making him feel angry with me. “Corbyn I’m also sorry that I made you feel so angry. Please forgive me.” (DING, DING, DING! WIN!) Less time outs = Less back talking. He is still having trouble with his anger towards me telling him “I’m sorry Corbyn but that’s not a good idea.” Or “Corbyn, please do not do that.” So his back talk is worse when he doesn’t get his way, but from what I’ve witnessed, most kids are this way. Now this I know is just his age. I’m sure it can be very confusing for him. All of these new emotions he gets to express! Very overwhelming for a 4 and a half year old. I have noticed that talking to him about why he’s mad is solving most of the confusion for him. (Key word here is MOST…Not ALL!)
Fellow parents, I encourage you to not give up. Do not give in to the easy way of parenting. Just remember, you are the parent! It’s such a struggle, but if parenting were easy I’m sure it’d be called something different. Maybe “drinking a glass of wine with a slice of chocolate cake.” Or “I allow my kid to do whatever the hell he/she wants to do.” Or “Nap” – I’m sure you catch my drift. The point here is has our move to a completely different town made my life a living hell thus far? ABSOLUTLY! But I refuse for my son to grow up disrespectful and unaware of hurting other peoples feeling, I refuse to allow him to live in unhealthy situations, and I refuse to allow parenthood to get the best of me. (I encourage you to have a good cry! Instant relief!) You are fighting a WINNING battle if you allow yourself to recognize what’s really blocking your way of winning the battle in the first place. (It’s all about trial and error.)
Signed,
Mom (That’s Lieutenant Mom to you!)
Saturday, July 2, 2011
I know what this may look like, but I'm the real potty mouth here.
My best friend and I were talking about a daycare (whose name I’d like to blast all over the internet as BIG TIME IDIOTS, but I won’t.) her daughter recently attended. The owners of the daycare used to tell my best friend that kids do not copy other kids actions. For instance, a little boy hit her daughter with a fist. Well her daughter, who had never hit with a fist before, hit this little boy back with a fist. So you’re telling me that her daughter who, keep in mind had never hit with a fist before, just out of the blue hit him back because she just all of the sudden decided to start using her fist? Not likely. Not likely at all! When she told me the owners didn’t believe in “Monkey see, monkey do” I was completely dumbfounded. How can ANYONE possibly believe that preschoolers are not influenced by others actions? And why are these morons running a godforsaken daycare? Put my 4 and a half yr. old in a room with his uncle for an hour and see if he doesn’t come out saying “They were COOOOOONES!” every 5 minutes. (In case you’re wondering that’s a line from the movie Wedding Singer which my brother swears is the most under-rated line in a movie ever.) My point here is this;; Kids ALWAYS do what they see, always have, and always will! That’s a fact!
So my son’s teacher at school pulls me aside this past week. “Listen Elizabeth, Corbyn got into some trouble today. He said some naughty words to the kids in the toy room. See he walked in and put his hand on his hip and said “Just what in the HELLLLL are you doin’ in here?” I had to put him into time out, and tell him that there are no naughty words to be said in my class.” I know the look on my face was instant guilt. Uh oh. Damn. I’m caught. So I then admitted to Corbyn’s sweet teacher that I’m at fault. It was then that I realized that I do say that very often to Corbyn. We haven’t discussed yet that the word “Hell” is a bad word, as well as an OK word to say. She agreed with me saying “Well I figured he was just copying something you, or someone close to you guys had recently said.” (HELLO DOES ANYONE SEE THAT? SHE BELIEVES IN MOKEY SEE MONKEY DO! I knew I liked this lady for a reason.) I then told her that I would do my best to work on our foul language. (which is currently in the works. So far Corbyn is kicking my hiney in that department!) But when I had a discussion with Corbyn about it, he said it to me exactly as he said it to his friends, I could not help but laugh until I cried. (I’m human ok?!) That is without a doubt, my clone.
I’m sure that as parents we have all come across a time we’ve heard our kids say something belligerent due to the fact they’ve heard us say it. (If you’re still not in the talking phase, just wait! All kind of stuff comes out of their mouths! It’s like a faucet!) I think the only way for a kid to really learn is to actually have a laugh about it, and just be upfront with your kid about their language. After all, kids learn from your actions.
Signed,
Mom (The potty mouth!)
Friday, July 1, 2011
I know what this may look like, but Barnacle is just shy!
OK so I lied! Does that really make me a bad mother?! Barnacle was DOOMED in at the very least 5 minutes if I didn’t let him go. I cannot handle that kind of guilt! (Nor could I handle driving one handed holding a Sponge Bob sand bucket filled with Gulf of Mexico water and a baby shrimp named Barnacle all the way back home.) Never mind the fact that there were a bunch of seagulls flying above just waiting for Barnacle the baby shrimp to leave my finger tips.
So now your question may be “how do you have a pet baby shrimp named Barnacle in a Sponge Bob sand bucket full of Gulf of Mexico water if there really is no baby shrimp named Barnacle in the Sponge Bob bucket?” About that, Barnacle is shy. Listen we have been through tons of pets. To name a few, an earth worm named bologna, a tomato worm named wormy (who we turned into a moth, VERY cool science project fellow parents! Also costs next to nothing.), a crawfish named salt, and a frog named pig. All of which were very cool, very easy to deal with pets. We learned how to return our pets to the wild, safely. But this baby shrimp was different, I have no idea what got into him? (Or me!) He was just so worried about the seagulls getting cute little Barnacle, that I could not break his heart. So note to self & all you parents out there – at 4 & a half they tend to want to keep their science pets when you say “Oh what a cool pet! What’s his name?!” (As you can see this whole situation is completely MY fault.)
Sometimes lying to your child is just necessary. someone once told me “telling someone the truth may set you free, but it’s beating the crap out of someone else in the mean time.” So maybe I’ll tell him the story about Barnacle when He’s 18 or something, in hopes the truth about his pet baby shrimp won’t scar him for life.
P.S. –A proper funeral will be arranged at the house of the porcelain gods at promptly 6 p.m. today for Baby Shrimp Barnacle. This will be called "Project setting Barnacle the baby shrimp free without any seagulls in sight!"
Signed,
Mom (The big fat liar.)
| Photo by Erin Shorts - Corbyn Ford 2010 Crystal Beach, Texas |
Thursday, June 30, 2011
I know what this may look like, but I started a blog about parenting.
I have a sign on my desk at work that reads "No coffee? No talkie!" For a good reason too. I'm a full time mom, full time small business owner, and a full time employee workin' for the man. But this blog isn't about that other stuff, it's about parenthood. It's about how we got here, what we do to survive it, and how to conquer being a parent in any given situation.
My son, who is now 4 and a half, is anything but quiet and calm. His name is Corbyn. He's currently into trains, robots, gardening, talking for hours on end about absolutly nothing at all, and body surfing big waves at the beach. We somehow aquired a pet baby shrimp who's name is Barnacle. (Calm down, Barnacle is currently swimming free amongst other baby shrimp in the Gulf of Mexico. - This is a good story for another time though.)
I will never forget the first time I saw Corbyn, I was completely and utterly scared. I had no idea how to hold him, much less how to raise a kid. (Can I get a AMEN?!) Mothering instincts did NOT come naturally. Whoever said that is such a liar liar pants on fire! They did however come to me about a week in to this whole situation. You can read every single magazine, every book, and every blog about prepping for a kid, but nothing prepares you for the first time you actually meet your first child. 4 and a half years after that day, here I am blogging about the many adventures I've faced as a parent. All I want to do is be the best possible parent I can for my son, i think we can all attest to that. So here's some advice to all my fellow parents out there - Everything will be OK. You are OK.
My son, who is now 4 and a half, is anything but quiet and calm. His name is Corbyn. He's currently into trains, robots, gardening, talking for hours on end about absolutly nothing at all, and body surfing big waves at the beach. We somehow aquired a pet baby shrimp who's name is Barnacle. (Calm down, Barnacle is currently swimming free amongst other baby shrimp in the Gulf of Mexico. - This is a good story for another time though.)
I will never forget the first time I saw Corbyn, I was completely and utterly scared. I had no idea how to hold him, much less how to raise a kid. (Can I get a AMEN?!) Mothering instincts did NOT come naturally. Whoever said that is such a liar liar pants on fire! They did however come to me about a week in to this whole situation. You can read every single magazine, every book, and every blog about prepping for a kid, but nothing prepares you for the first time you actually meet your first child. 4 and a half years after that day, here I am blogging about the many adventures I've faced as a parent. All I want to do is be the best possible parent I can for my son, i think we can all attest to that. So here's some advice to all my fellow parents out there - Everything will be OK. You are OK.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)





